Ray Manzarek of the Doors Breaks on Through to the Other Side: R.I.P., Ray

May 23, 2013

2 Responses to “Ray Manzarek of the Doors Breaks on Through to the Other Side: R.I.P., Ray”


  1. Ray’s playing was the staple of The Doors’ music. He’ll certainly be missed after such a long and fruitful career helping to create such haunting music. The Doors’ songs opened my mind to other realms of possibilities and cleansed my perception. I paid tribute to Ray when I heard of his passing by creating a new portrait of him and some melting doors which you can see on my artist’s blog at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2013/05/in-memoriam-ray-manzarek.html Drop by and let me know how The Doors influenced you too.

    • CFB Says:

      Thanks for commenting — last night I was watching a Doors concert on VH1 Classic and for the first time I noticed how each member contributed a unique voice to the music. Manzarek’s keyboards along with the drums, guitars, and vocals (and lyrics) each seemed equally present. Such an achievement, and probably why their music genuinely will be timeless.


Leave a Reply (comments must be approved by the administrator before publication)

