Book Review — The Best Small Fictions 2015

August 25, 2015

Autumn 2015 contributor Tara L. Masih is series editor for The Best Small Fictions 2015. Here’s a review from the Evilcyclist’s blog.

Evilcyclist's Blog

The Best Small Fictions 2015 by Robert Olen ButlerThe Best Small Fictions 2015 is a collection of very short fiction originally published by a variety of publications. I was asked if I would review this book by the series editor Tara L. Masih several weeks ago. I accepted because I like it when I am asked to review something that isn’t a vampire apocalypse romance novel. I was not entirely sure what small fiction was about but was told there was prose poetry included. That was good enough for me.

I will say I was very surprised with this collection. I usually do not care for short stories because I feel dropped into the middle of a story and pulled out before it’s over or before I completely understand what is going on. Small fiction, however, is the matchbox of fiction; no story is more than a few short pages. There is also the feeling of completeness in…

View original post 386 more words

Leave a Reply (comments must be approved by the administrator before publication)

